Thrifted Refashion: Trench Vest

Welcome Back!
So a few weeks ago, I showed you guys a Thrifted haul and I told you guys that I was going to transform a few of the things that I purchased.  One of those things was this blue dress.
trench1I know. I know. It’s hideous. And you are probably thinking, what the heck was I thinking, right?  Well, This wouldn’t be “Cheap but Chic” if I couldn’t tell you how to think outside of the box and make something that looks amazing…..for little money of course!  So, trench vests are in! And I love them.  Its such a perfect piece to wear to the office or a casual shopping day.  Here is my inspiration:
karla11Aren’t they chic?!?!? I love trench vests.  So what I did was really easy!
1. Remove sleeves and hem.
2. Update buttons
3. Press
4. Done

trenchOne of things that I looked for when creating this coat was the fabric.  The fabric had to be durable, and it had to be a medium-weight feel like trench coat fabrics are.  Another thing that I looked for was the double breasted button closures. This to me, was a no brainer.  Once I saw this, I immediately thought trench coat! I paired mine with a simple white t-shirt, jeans, and nude pumps.  I allowed my trench vest to get all of the attention in this outfit. I’m definitely excited to add this to my closet.
trench5trench6
trench7Trench Vest: Thrift Store Refashion// Jeans: American Eagle// Tee: Target// Purse: Aldo// Heels: JCP

What are your thoughts on the trench vest? Comment below!

name

19 thoughts on “Thrifted Refashion: Trench Vest

  1. OMGosh! I love reading your blog. It’s not because I am into trench vests, they are cute just not my thing, it’s not because I’m into refashioning although after seeing your stuff I might, it’s because you put a smile on my face and bring a chuckle to my day. That dress was Hideous with a capital H. How you managed to turn it into something trendy / cool out of a fashion magazine just cracks me up. I’d love it if some fashion guru like Ana Wintour one day stopped you and said something like ” I love your trench vest, who’s is it?” Wouldn’t THAT be awesome, I’m sure it’ll happen one day and you have to tell us about it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: I got Nominated for “One lovely Blog Award”! | Uta Sews

Leave a Reply

