Thrift Haul

Hi everyone. So I recently went thrifting and found some great things. I’m super excited to share it with you all and hopefully if you don’t thrift, I’ll inspire you to start.  So in the past few years, thrifting has gotten really popular and so thrift stores have ridiculously started to raise their prices on the things that were DONATED to them. (I’m really mad about that if you can’t tell.) I don’t understand why they do that, but I guess it’s all business.  So, with the things that I purchased, I plan to either make some alterations or do a slight makeover to create something that is currently on trend.  If you follow me on Instagram @cheapbutchic, you will have seen one item I’ve already made over. Anyhow, let’s get started with the haul.

Ok. so when you first see this, you may be slightly scared and think, “What the heck was she thinking?” Well, the number one rule when thrifting is that you must think outside the box.  If you sew, you can take your thrifting up a whole new level because you can recreate and alter your finds. I bought this for $8.99 because I was inspired by this years hottest trend; the sleeveless trench coat. thrifthaul4Here is my inspiration: karla11 I love the way Ashley from FabEllis styled her sleeveless trench coat. ash1 My next thrifted find was this gray wool skirt.  The price for this skirt was $3.99. Wool skirts are a must have for Fall and Winter. This is such a classic piece and it’s must have for cooler weather because it keeps your bum warm.  I plan to shorten it to make it a bit more chic. thrifthaul1Here is my inspiration: Blake+Lively+Cinema+Society+BlackBerry+Bold+zI-FOU1F8eXl

My next thrifted item that I purchased was this long jean skirt. The price for this skirt was $4.99. I do plan on make some minor changes to this skirt as well…well, just a bit of shortening and distressing. thrifthaulHere is my inspiration: jeanskirt1So ofcourse I had to save the best for last.  The retail price on this coat is $220 found HERE. The price for this coat was $29.99, but I paid $22 because my thrift store has a sale every Monday.  This jacket looks brand new and it’s just plain beautiful! No alterations will be made on this coat because it’s perfect as is. I’ll just be dropping it off at my local dry cleaners as with all the rest of these clothes. thrifthaul3Here is my inspiration: plus-size-trench-coatWhat do you think about my finds?  Have you been thrifting lately? If so let me know what you’ve found. I’d love to hear.  Also if you haven’t been thrifting or never been, I hope I’ve inspired you. name

11 thoughts on “Thrift Haul

  1. Wow! You did find some great stuff at your thrift store, and you have a great eye!!! Can’t wait to see how every thing turns out! I went to my local Goodwill this past Saturday and found some good stuff too. My fave was a lined black classic Calvin Klein blazer that looked like it had never been worn for $2.99.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your fings are amazing. Especially the coat. Could not beat that price and it was in great conditon. I thrift, but my purchases have mostly been home decor and furniture. Always on the hunt for inexpensive decor.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

