Pumpkin Pincushion

Fall is here! I’m so excited because this is my favorite season. I totally go all out for Fall; fashion, home décor, crafts. So in honor of my favorite season, I wanted to make a cute little pincushion. I love the way it turned out. It’ll be a great addition to my photos as well.
pumpkinSo this pincushion took about 45 minutes to one hour. You can literally make this with your eyes closed….not really, but it’s extremely easy. If you are interested in adding a pincushion to your collection now is the time.

Here is what you’ll need:
Two different fabrics, felt, embroidery floss, an embroidery needle, stuffing, hot glue gun, pencil, clothes pin

pumpkin101. Trace and cut two even circles. I used an 8 in. cake pan.
pumpkin92. Cut each circle in quarters and arrange both circles like the picture below.
pumpkin83. Stitch pieces together. Be sure to press seams open as you go along.
pumpkin74. With right sides together, stitch the circles together leaving and 1.5 in. opening. Turn right side out and push stuffing inside.
pumpkin65. Stitch pincushion closed by hand with matching thread.
pumpkin56. Thread your embroidery floss through your needle like so. I tied two knots so that it doesn’t fall off while I’m pulling it through my pincushion.
pumpkin47. Pull embroidery floss through center of pincushion and continue to wrap around and pull through center to form a pumpkin. When finished, pull tight and tie two knots.
pumpkin28. Cut out a leaf using the felt and glue in center of pumpkin. Take the grosgrain ribbon and spray starch on both sides. Wrap around pencil and secure ends with a wooden clothes pin.  Place on baking sheet and allow the ribbon to heat up in a 200 degree oven for 4-5 minutes.  Allow to cool before removing from pencil.  Once cool, glue ribbon to center of pumpkin and glue a brown button on top.
pumpkin19. Now you are officially ready for Fall sewing! 🙂
pumpkin11If you decided to make one for yourself, show me! Find me on Instagram and tag me.

signature

4 thoughts on “Pumpkin Pincushion

Leave a Reply

