Keep it Short

So for the past couple of years, matching shorts sets have been a definite trend that’s been seen everywhere; whether it’s on your favorite celebs, your favorite fashion bloggers, or just random people you see on the street.  So, I figured why not make one?  But of course, I had to wait until I found the perfect fabric to get the look that I was looking for. When this outfit what finished, I wanted it to be bold, bright, and fun.  I wanted the shorts set to be the image of what Summer style should be; effortless, yet fashionable.
kisI’ve always seen Ankara fabric on other fashion bloggers, but I’ve never seen it for myself in person.  So while in New York, I came across several stores that sold this type of fabric and one particular store had this one for $5/yd!  That’s crazy cheap right?! SOLD!!! I bought a few yards and made this short set for myself and made a simple pillow case dress for my daughter that you can check out HERE if you haven’t seen it yet.
shortsetSo a lot of the shorts sets that I’ve seen were extremely short. If you can’t tell already, I’m quite conservative.  When I make clothes for myself, I keep in mind that first, I am a mom, and second, I am a married woman. I keep my sexiness very subtle. With that in mind, I kept the length of shorts decent enough to be able to go on an outing with my family and be able to still look chic while being quite comfortable.
kis4Let’s talk about the patterns. As you can probably already tell, this outfit was very easy to make.  I think each item took about 2-2.5 hours to complete. So a total of 4-5 hours for the entire look.  The instructions on both patterns were easy to follow and I didn’t need to make too many adjustments. The only adjustment that I made was shortening the top so that it sits just above my hips. My hips are kind of wide, and I did not want my shirt pulled down tight around my hips or bunched up around my stomach area. I wanted the look to be nice and crisp.
kis3kis2CollageShorts Set: DIY// Earrings: NYC// Watch: TJ Maxx// Lipstick: Milani Uptown Muave//Black Heels: Target// Blue Heels (pictured in 1st pic): Forever21

What are your thoughts on matching shorts set? Do you already own one? Do you plan on making one?  Comment below! I’d love to hear your thoughts.

signature

9 thoughts on “Keep it Short

  1. This is SUPER STYLISH and mom/wife friendly!!! I love it!!
    I have recently embarked on sewing my own clothes and am truly enjoying your blog!! Keep up the great work!!!

    Like

  2. I love it! I love ANKARA, you’ve been so helpful. I just starting sewing more frequently as well. I’m making this for myself, mommy and my sister. Yes, here in NYC Ankara is cheap and widely available. Where did you get this particular fabric ?

    Like

    • Awwww…Thank you! Wow! You have a lot of work cut out for you. That’s a lot of people to sew for. LOL! As far as the fabric, because I was so excited about being around so much fabric, I didn’t even think to look at what store this fabric was found. Sorry.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Favorite Summer Looks | Cheap but Chic

Leave a Reply

