Graphic Motifs

One of the biggest trends for Summer and Fall 2014 are bold prints.  When I went to NY this weekend and saw this print I had to get it.  The fabric is an African fabric called Ankara. It’s a cotton fabric with a waxy coating on the front side of the fabric.  It’s extremely easy to work with. To me, it’s kind of stiff…like paper. But the variety of prints that Ankara has is endless. This type of fabric is bright, colorful, and beautiful.
ankara3So aside from making myself and outfit from this particular fabric, I had some leftover so, I had to make my sweet baby girl something. BTW, she kept asking me to make her something since she saw my son not wanting to change his pants from the ones I made in a previous post that you can check out here. Pillowcase dresses have been around for so long and I’ve always wanted to make my daughter one, but never had the chance too. But, I made one last night and it took me about 1.5 hours. This dress was extremely easy! And my daughter received so many compliments on it.  The women at church couldn’t even believe that I made this dress. And that brought a smile to my face. Oh! And the bow….I made that it 15 min. I think anyone can make a hair bow with their eyes closed; cute and simple!
ankara1I love these dresses because they can transition from a dress into a tunic. And, if you don’t care for a fabric bow, you can opt for a wide ribbon.  Sewing gives you so many possibilities.  There are so many tutorials on Pinterest if you are interested in making one. You can check out this one HERE and HERE. These dresses are a fast option if you ever in need of an outfit for that little girl in your life. Oh! I didn’t mention what a fabulous and inexpensive gift this would be!
ankara7 ankara6 ankara4ankara5ankara2

ankara8
Have you or will you be making one for your little girl?

Thanks for stopping by! XOXO
signature

7 thoughts on “Graphic Motifs

  1. Great job on the dress! And your daughter is too adorable! My daughter used to like taking pics like these, but lately, she doesn’t care much for it anymore. Hopefully, it’s just a phase, cos I love these types of pictures!!!

    Like

    • Chinelo! Hi! My daughter is not photogenic at all. Well at least compared to my son. I just allowed her to be herself and took candid shots. Maybe that may work for your daughter. My son can pose all day Lol! My daughter. …not so much. Try it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

