Is it bright out here, or it just me?!

Hi ladies and gents!
So for June, Pretty Girls Sew picked out a very flattering maxi dress who’s details are to die for.  I loved the cinched-in waist, the drop front and back neckline and the tie strap that went across the top, back. The pattern that was used this month was McCalls M6700 or another name for it was Project Runway’s MP300.
DSC_0155
So the theme for this month was Summer. When I think of Summer, I already knew I wanted to find fabric that brought out one of this year’s hottest trend; neon.
neon collage I must say, a flattering neon fabric is absolutely hard to find.  I got lucky though. I found my fabric on Fabric.com for only $5.98/ yd.  Here is the description of the fabric: Designer Stretch ITY Jersey Knit Floral Stripe Pink/Gold.juneSo here is my interpretation of the dress.  Like always, I changed up the dress a bit.  Nothing drastic, but I added a high slit.  I was channeling my inner JLO and Angelina Jolie. So what do you guys think?
DSC_0171
PicMonkey Collage1DSC_0150
DSC_0182
DSC_0233Lipstick that I chose to wear is Milani’s Sweet Nectar.  This color is perfect for Summer and for those of us that want to try out an Orange lippie for a great price. You can purchase this one at your local drugstore.
DSC_0244
If you ever want to make your first maxi dress from a pattern, this is the one to make! It was extremely easy and fast to make.  If you plan on making your own, comment below. I would love to hear what your fabric choice would be.
signature

25 thoughts on “Is it bright out here, or it just me?!

  1. I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, first time commenting. I LOVE this post! I love everything about it: I love the fabric. I love the way you chose the fabric — I love summer neons and you made it work so well and it looks so great on you. I would never, ever think that summer neons could work on a McCall’s pattern this well. I especially love the slit. You made this look SO classy and pretty!

    Like

    • Awwww…..This made my day. Thank you so much for reading my blog. I had a rough start on this whole blog word, but I’m starting to get the hang of it. To be honest, I would have never bought this dress if it was in a store. I’m extremely insecure and I hate wearing something that will force people to stare at me. LOL! Sound weird for a blogger, I know! But responses like this allow me to step out of my comfort zone more and more. Thank you!

      Like

      • Oh good because I thought I sounded a little too excited! Really, I’m just so shocked at how well this worked and it looks GREAT on you! I could never wear long gown-type dresses since I’m so short. And I love, love, love summer neons so I love the way you creatively chose that as your “summer” theme. This dress looks fabulous and designer-worthy!

        Like

      • Stop it!!! Short girls can wear long maxi’s too. You just have to alter the hem of the dress and cinch the waist. Dulce Candy (blogger & YouTuber) wears them all the time. I think she is under 5 ft and her style is impeccable. Check her out if you haven’t. I will be doing a DIY vid on a maxi dress soo so that you can make one yourself. And THANK YOU so much again!

        Like

  2. Pingback: 24 Gorgeous DIY Maxi Dresses/Skirts. The Weekly Round Up | Titicrafty by CamilaTiticrafty by Camila

  3. Pingback: Transitioning into my Summer Wardrobe | Cheap but Chic

  4. OMG it’s beautiful! I’m actually working on this same pattern right now for my upcoming trip to LA. And I love the added slit too!

    Like

  5. Hi there. I’ve had this pattern for some time now, but I could never find a stretch knit that I like. When I saw this article I was actually very excited because I thought it was a Chiffon fabric only when I read the article I realised it was a knit. It looks gorgeous and I love it, but I want to know if I make it in chiffon how should I adjust the pattern? Cause its a knit pattern?

    Like

  6. This dress is awesome. The colors, the split, the fabric!!!!!!! You have given me inspiration to try this. I’m going to a Hawaiian and needed an idea of what to wear, i think this is it. Thanks so much!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I found this beautiful fabric couple of days ago and was looking for a Maxi Dress Pattern. This is it!
    Just ordered it and can’t wait to start.

    Thank you for sharing! 😊👍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

