DIY Mother’s Day Brunch OOTD

This year for Mother’s Day, I decided that I was going to try something different.  Every year (for the past 4 yrs), just like every mother, I would run to the store to try and find the most beautiful dress to wear on Mother’s Day.  The bad thing about that was, with the cost of the outfit and some well deserved shoes, everything would come out way overpriced or just too expensive for me to spend on a regular basis.
Anyway, this year I decided to go ahead and make my own Mother’s Day dress.  I have recently gotten into sewing within the last year, so I decided to challenge myself. In this post, I have included a pattern review and where I purchased everything that I am wearing.  I want to wish all of you mother’s out there and Happy Mother’s Day.  Be blessed!
pattern review

DSC_00491

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it?
Yes. There were two different option for the peplum; Flared and pleated.  I chose the flared peplum.

Were the instructions easy to follow?
I think it all depends on if you have ever sewn a princess cut op before.  If you are a beginner, I this the top may be a bit difficult to understand. It doesn’t hurt to try though.  It took me a minute to understand how to sew this princess cut top.  Once I figured it out, everything else was a breeze.  Also, if you have never sewn an invisible zipper before, then I would suggest to find a tutorial on YouTube.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?
I loved the outcome of this outfit.  If I had to choose one dislike, I would say that the top had too many pieces to cut.  There were princess cuts in the front as well as the back.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:
I did make a bit of an adjustment to this dress.  I separated the two and made a peplum top and a high-waisted pencil skirt.  The reason I did this is because after brunch on Mother’s Day, I wanted to change into jeans, but still look cute in my peplum top.

Would you recommend it to others?
I would definitely recommend this pattern to others and I would actually make another one is different material.  I love how classy it looks.  It’s just an amazing fit.

DSC_0008
DSC_0047

DSC_0044
DSC_0107

DSC_0132
get the look
 

Where I purchased my pattern: JoAnn Fabrics
Fabric Used:
Spring Shimmer Peach Linen
Where to purchase fabric:
JoAnn Fabrics
Jewelry:
Charlotte Russe, Target
Shoes:
Charlotte Russe
Belt:
Thrift Store
mtCollageDSC_0102
signature

6 thoughts on “DIY Mother’s Day Brunch OOTD

  1. I love the this dress and especially love the fabric you used. It’s so delicate and pretty looking! I wish my sewing skills were good. My poor sewing machine just sits on my bookcase looking pretty.

    Like

    • THANK YOU!
      Pick it up and try again. If you want to sew using a pattern, try the ones labeled easy. Everyone has to start somewhere. Remember, I just started last Fall with small stuff like makeup bags. In April is when I started sewing clothes. If I can do it, you can do it!

      Like

    • Awww…Thank you! This particular peplum top was difficult for me to understand at the beginning. I think for a beginner it may be difficult to understand if you’ve never seen someone do it before. I do plan on doing a YouTube DIY on this type of peplum tops, so that everyone can learn how to make 2 different types of Peplum tops. The one that I have on my YouTube channel is for stretchy material. This particular one is structured and has no stretch. Stay Tuned and I will definitely teach you how. Thanks for reading my blog. I hope you follow me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

